Medical discharge from the Australian Defence Force can give rise to several separate claim pathways. These may include DVA compensation, a CSC invalidity benefit and total and permanent disability insurance held through superannuation or under a separate policy.
The claims may arise from the same injury or illness, but they apply different eligibility tests. A medical discharge does not automatically establish entitlement under any of the three pathways, and success in one claim does not determine the others.
The first step is to identify which medical discharge entitlements may exist, which conditions are relevant to each claim and what evidence each decision-maker requires.
What does DVA assess?
DVA considers whether an injury or disease is related to defence service. Once liability is accepted, the veteran may become eligible for treatment, rehabilitation, incapacity payments, permanent impairment compensation or other support.
Since 1 July 2026, all new rehabilitation and compensation claims have been assessed under the improved Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 (MRCA), regardless of when the veteran served or when the injury or disease occurred.
Permanent impairment compensation addresses non-economic loss arising from accepted service-related conditions. It considers the degree of medical impairment and the resulting lifestyle restrictions. The condition must generally result in an impairment that is likely to continue indefinitely and must be stable before a final assessment can be made.
DVA incapacity payments address economic loss. They may be payable where an accepted service-related condition prevents or reduces the veteran’s capacity to work.
DVA therefore does not simply ask whether the veteran was medically discharged. The diagnosis, connection to service and requirements of the particular benefit must each be established.
What does CSC assess?
The Commonwealth Superannuation Corporation considers eligibility for invalidity benefits under the member’s military superannuation arrangements.
CSC assesses the member’s incapacity for appropriate civilian employment because of the medical conditions that led to their medical transition, which CSC refers to as retiring impairments. It considers the member’s education, skills, qualifications and employment experience, the civilian work they could otherwise undertake and the restrictions caused by those impairments.
The invalidity classes broadly reflect the assessed level of incapacity:
- Class A applies where incapacity is assessed at 60% or more.
- Class B applies where incapacity is assessed between 30% and 59%.
- Class C applies where incapacity is assessed below 30%.
Class A or Class B generally results in an invalidity benefit under the applicable scheme. The calculation and payment structure differ between DFRDB, MilitarySuper and ADF Cover.
A condition does not necessarily need to be service-related before CSC can consider it. However, it generally needs to be a retiring impairment relevant to the member’s medical transition. This is different from DVA, which generally requires the condition to be connected to service before compensation is payable.
What does a TPD insurer assess?
TPD insurance generally pays a lump sum where illness or injury causes the insured person to satisfy the policy definition of total and permanent disability. The applicable definition varies between insurers and policies.
A policy may apply an:
- Own occupation definition, which examines whether the person is unlikely to work again in their previous occupation;
- Any occupation definition, which examines whether the person is unlikely to work again in an occupation suited to their education, training or experience; or
- Activities of daily living definition, which examines whether the person is permanently unable to perform specified self-care activities without assistance.
TPD insurance held through superannuation commonly applies an any-occupation or activities-of-daily-living definition. The precise wording, insured amount, exclusions, waiting periods and date on which cover applied must be checked in the relevant policy and Product Disclosure Statement.
Not every veteran will have TPD insurance. Cover may have ended, been cancelled or changed before the relevant disablement date. Insurance on an inactive superannuation account may also be cancelled after the account has received no contributions for at least 16 months, subject to the applicable rules and any election to retain cover.
Do the three claims apply the same work-capacity test?
No. Although work capacity can be relevant to all three pathways, the questions are different.
DVA incapacity payments examine economic loss caused by an accepted service-related condition. DVA permanent impairment compensation instead addresses medical impairment and lifestyle effects and does not require the veteran to satisfy a TPD definition.
CSC examines the degree to which retiring impairments reduce the member’s capacity for appropriate civilian employment under the relevant military superannuation arrangements.
A TPD insurer applies the wording of the insurance policy. Under an any-occupation definition, this may involve whether the claimant is unlikely to return to work for which they are reasonably suited by education, training or experience. The wording should not be assumed from the term “TPD” alone.
This means a veteran may receive a Class B CSC classification but not satisfy a TPD policy, or may satisfy a TPD policy without receiving the same outcome from DVA. The evidence may overlap, but the conclusions are not interchangeable.
What evidence should be collected?
A coordinated approach begins with one accurate master chronology covering service, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, medical transition and post-service employment.
Relevant documents may include:
- ADF medical and personnel records;
- medical employment classification and discharge documents;
- records identifying CSC retiring impairments;
- treating and specialist reports;
- rehabilitation and return-to-work records;
- employment history, qualifications and vocational evidence;
- DVA liability and compensation decisions;
- CSC estimates, draft classifications and Decision Notices;
- superannuation statements;
- insurance policies and Product Disclosure Statements;
- evidence showing whether TPD cover was active at the relevant date; and
- income-protection, workers compensation or other insurance records.
Medical reports should be tailored to the test being applied. A report for DVA may need to address diagnosis, service connection, stability, impairment or work incapacity. A CSC report should explain how the retiring impairments affect appropriate civilian employment. A TPD report should address the precise policy definition.
The underlying facts should remain consistent. However, the emphasis may properly differ because each scheme asks a different question.
Can a mental health condition support a TPD claim?
Potentially. A PTSD TPD claim may succeed where PTSD or another mental health condition satisfies the TPD definition in the policy that applied at the relevant time.
The diagnosis alone is not enough. The evidence may need to address treatment, prognosis, concentration, reliability, attendance, relationships, workplace tolerance and whether the claimant can sustainably perform suitable employment.
A veteran does not necessarily need to be incapable of every isolated task. Depending on the policy wording, the issue may be whether the person can return to suitable employment reliably and on a continuing basis.
The policy’s exclusions, insured status and disability definition must still be checked. The result of a DVA mental health claim or CSC invalidity assessment may be relevant evidence, but it does not automatically prove a PTSD TPD claim.
Can the claims run at the same time?
In many circumstances, DVA CSC TPD claims can progress at the same time. There is no general requirement to wait for one claim to finish before starting the others.
Running the claims together can allow medical and vocational evidence to be gathered efficiently. However, each medical practitioner should understand which test they are addressing.
Careful coordination is particularly important where:
- different conditions are relied upon in different claims;
- the claimed onset or disablement dates differ;
- one report describes a capacity for work that another report appears to deny;
- a return-to-work attempt is underway;
- rehabilitation evidence is being considered;
- an insurer requests access to DVA or CSC material; or
- review deadlines are running concurrently.
An apparent inconsistency may have a valid explanation. For example, a veteran may be incapable of suitable civilian employment for TPD purposes while retaining some limited capacity for therapeutic or intermittent activity. The evidence should explain the difference rather than leave it unresolved.
Will success in one claim prove another?
No. A successful DVA claim establishes that the condition met the applicable service-connection and benefit requirements. It does not determine the CSC classification or satisfy an insurance definition.
A Class A or Class B CSC decision may provide useful evidence about work capacity, but CSC considers retiring impairments and the military superannuation criterion for appropriate civilian employment. The TPD insurer must apply the policy wording that governed the cover.
Similarly, a superannuation TPD payout does not automatically establish DVA liability. A TPD condition may not be related to defence service, and an insurer may consider conditions that DVA has not accepted.
Each decision may nevertheless be relevant evidence in another claim. The decision, supporting reports and underlying factual findings should be reviewed before they are relied upon elsewhere.
Can one payment affect another?
Potentially. The interaction depends on the payment involved.
DVA incapacity payments can be reduced by Commonwealth-funded superannuation benefits, including relevant CSC pension and lump-sum amounts. A retrospective CSC invalidity award can therefore create a DVA overpayment for the same period, which may be recovered from CSC arrears.
DVA permanent impairment compensation is different. It compensates for non-economic loss and is not the same as DVA incapacity payments. A CSC invalidity benefit does not automatically prevent the veteran from receiving permanent impairment compensation.
A superannuation TPD payout may also have tax, superannuation-release, Services Australia and financial-planning consequences. Whether it affects another benefit depends on the applicable legislation, policy terms and the nature of the payment.
Before accepting a payment, settlement or election, the veteran should identify:
- whether the amount is taxable;
- whether it is paid through or outside superannuation;
- whether a condition of release must be satisfied;
- whether DVA incapacity payments will be recalculated;
- whether arrears or overpayments may arise;
- whether Services Australia must be notified; and
- whether another insurer has a right to seek information or apply an offset.
What should be checked in each decision?
For DVA, check the accepted conditions, service connection, medical findings, impairment points, lifestyle rating, incapacity calculation and effective date, depending on the benefit claimed.
For CSC, check the retiring impairments, civilian occupations identified, qualifications and employment history, assessed incapacity percentage, invalidity class and benefit calculation. CSC provides a draft-classification stage during which further information can be supplied before the final Decision Notice.
For TPD, check the policy that applied at the relevant date, the insured amount, disability definition, exclusions, waiting period, cessation provisions and insurer’s reasons. The current policy may not be the same document that governed the claim if the cover changed over time.
A rejected decision should be addressed through the review or complaints process applying to that particular scheme. Review rights and deadlines may differ across DVA, CSC and private insurance.
Before accepting a payment or decision
The same medical discharge may support several medical discharge entitlements, but those entitlements should not be treated as one combined claim.
KSC Law can review DVA CSC TPD claims, coordinate the supporting evidence and identify differences between the legal, superannuation and insurance tests. We can also examine a PTSD TPD claim, CSC invalidity classification or DVA compensation decision and explain the review pathway applying to each matter.
Before accepting a superannuation TPD payout, CSC arrears payment or irreversible DVA payment choice, suitably qualified tax and financial advice may also be required to understand the consequences for the veteran’s broader position.
